From the archives: Becoming the designer that you want to be.

March 12, 2012 at 10:01 am Leave a comment

As a blogger, you hear comments like “the ‘average blog’ has the lifespan of a fruitfly” all the time. And unfortunately, many people do abandon new blogs before they return significantly on their time investments. While I admit that I have not hit my “daily” writing goal by a long shot, I’m still very proud to say that I’ve kept up this blog for two years now. And it’s led to some exciting connections and discoveries that have definitely made the whole thing worth it.

adorable image by Flickr user nappent

Two year’s ago today I wrote the following post to kick off this blog. Even though I’m now off the design track in my career (and more onto a research-like track), the post is still very relevant:

I’ve been thinking design ideas for years now… and have been toying with archiving them for almost as long. When I read GOOD’s “Ten Steps to Becoming the Designer You Want to Be” by Laura Seargeant Richardson, I decided to (metaphorically) make the leap and (actually) start a blog.

March 12′s design idea is get your ideas out of your head – get them out onto paper, on a blog, in a sketch, through conversation. Start working through them (and then get someone else involved!). I believe that great design always involves inquiry, brainstorming, and collaboration. That’s what this blog is for, and hopefully it really will help me become the designer that I want to be.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

My 16 new (admittedly some are not-so-new) professional crushes. Goals and reflection.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Idea Updates



Creative Commons License
Content on Daily Design Idea is by Gisela Garrett and is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License, unless specifically noted otherwise.

Daily Design Idea's visual identity is designed by Quentin Regos. All components copyright © 2010 Quentin Regos. All rights reserved.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.