“Why We’re All Designers”

March 24, 2011 at 11:05 pm 1 comment

“Why We’re All Designers” is a concise and fantastic article by Laura Weiss, Vice President of Service Innovation for the Taproot Foundation, published in Change Observer. While I highly recommend reading the whole thing, below is my favorite section:

“Without an appreciation of the design process, it is difficult for someone who has a stake in the outcomes to be a productive participant. Design, and the professions that engage in it, are still pretty exotic to most of the American public…. So when the concept of “design thinking” was introduced to the business world more than a decade ago, it became hugely popular. Designers started promoting the tools of their trade as applicable to core business decisions, and this education has enabled more productive collaborations between designers and their clients, as well as product managers and their bosses. Both translate into better outcomes in the form of successful commercial products.”

illustration based on Peter Drucker’s Paradigm of Change Model, from ZURBlog

March 24’s daily design idea is Weiss’s concluding thought: “When such capabilities are widely developed within the social sector, we’ll be able to say that we’re all designers too. To thrive, we’ll have to be.”

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Diversifying print. My design process (part 1 of many).

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. My design process (part 1 of many). « Daily Design Idea  |  April 18, 2011 at 11:52 pm

    […] In a recent interview for an event planning job, I was asked what my process was. Since I was overly focused on sharing my major accomplishments, my response was more of a highlight-filled narrative than it was an overview of my approach. With hindsight being 20-20-ish, I’ve been thinking a lot about how I could have more directly answered the question… and I decided that I wanted to use the blog to explore this in much the same way that I started defining design. And even though the job that I interviewed for wasn’t a classic design job, having a design process is still incredibly important. After all, we’re all designers. […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Idea Updates



Creative Commons License
Content on Daily Design Idea is by Gisela Garrett and is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License, unless specifically noted otherwise.

Daily Design Idea's visual identity is designed by Quentin Regos. All components copyright © 2010 Quentin Regos. All rights reserved.