My design process (part 1 of many).

March 25, 2011 at 11:02 pm 1 comment

In a recent interview for an event planning gig, I was asked what my process was. Since I was overly focused on sharing my major accomplishments, my response was more of a highlight-filled narrative than it was an overview of my approach. With hindsight being 20-20-ish, I’ve been thinking a lot about how I could have more directly answered the question… and I decided that I wanted to use the blog to explore this in much the same way that I started defining design. And even though the job that I interviewed for wasn’t a classic design gig, having a design process is still incredibly important. After all, we’re all designers.

any self reflection requires putting on your thinking cap(s); illustration by Shaun Bryndzia

I started by brainstorming the major components of my process, listed below. Their order does have some logic for me, but know that my process is very rarely a linear one.

The Major Components of My Process*:
Articulating Goals
Identifying Resources
Identifying Constraints
Identifying and Prioritizing Variables
Researching and Solidifying the Variables
Defining Action and Responsibility
Taking Action
Documenting the Process (Especially the Action)
Reflecting, in Preparation for Future Processes

*Serious Disclaimer: I will probably evolve this list as I continue with this series.

March 25’s daily design idea is what are the major components of your design process?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , .

“Why We’re All Designers” “A dignified house, a beautiful house, a house that everybody likes – not just architects.”

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Anastasia  |  April 19, 2011 at 2:26 pm

    I like it – this completely follows the scientific method.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Idea Updates



Creative Commons License
Content on Daily Design Idea is by Gisela Garrett and is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License, unless specifically noted otherwise.

Daily Design Idea's visual identity is designed by Quentin Regos. All components copyright © 2010 Quentin Regos. All rights reserved.